How I Feel About Writing Groups

​I have mixed feelings about Writing Groups. I have only really participated in peer editing groups, rather than writing workshops, but I can find them helpful. Often, the most beneficial aspect of writing or editing in a group is the fact that it makes me conscious of my own writing. I am forced to examine what I have written from another viewpoint. I want my paper to be good when other people read it for the first time, and so I work hard to make it good. Once someone else has read my paper and filled it full of red marks, I am forced to think about the things they found wrong with it. Sometimes this is a good thing. And yet other times, it fills me with bitterness and resentment that someone didn’t think my first draft was perfect.

​I think that resentment is often my first reaction after a writing group. About three weeks ago, one of my first college papers was due, for a class that I love and care about. I wanted to get a good grade and impress the professors. And so, when my classmates wanted to get together for peer editing, I decided that would be a great thing to go to. I wanted others’ opinions on my paper. So I went. And when I handed my paper to one of the girls there, the first thing she said to me was, “Is it alright if I use a red pen?” “Sure” I said, do whatever you like. Boy, did I regret that. She ended up needing a blue pen and a highlighter, in addition to the feared red pen. I remember her handing me my paper with a sinking feeling in my stomach. Here, I thought I had created a wondrous first draft, when in reality it was full of mistakes and corrections that needed to be made.

​I struggled with that essay for a long time after that peer-editing day. I ended up rewriting most of it, and changing my thesis statement. Though I felt snubbed after that evening, the corrections my friend suggested were for the most part helpful and accurate. I ended up doing well on that essay, and I was happy with my final draft. In this instance, peer editing and writing groups have been helpful. However, sometimes I leave feeling unsatisfied and like it wasn’t helpful. In my opinion, for my writing style, writing groups are sometimes helpful and sometimes not. In my opinion, it really depends on the person editing and what is being edited. I think that writing groups are something I should join in the future, and are a way to expose myself to others opinions about my writing. And I know that would be good for me.

3 thoughts on “How I Feel About Writing Groups

  1. I totally agree with your misgivings about peer reviews under certain circumstances. It’s hard when the person editing your paper is either A. not very good at it and doesn’t get across meaningful information or B. amazing at it, leaving you feeling crummy about your abilities as a writer.
    The latter would be the better option for an ability nurturing experience, but it takes some guts to submit our work to this scrutiny. After that, it takes a lot of humility to accept that (pretty much no matter what) there will be a lot of red ink on our papers.

    I can’t think of a better start to finding a solid, diverse writer’s group then in a classroom filled with English majors…

    Like

  2. I feel this so much. When we had our literature papers due last week, Rachel murdered my essay. There was red pen everywhere. My immediate reaction was to be super pissed about it but then I had to do a reality check and remember that my essay was truly terrible and needed every mark that she put. Also, fixing my essay would have taken hours longer than it did if I didn’t have Rachel’s guidance on every inch of my paper.

    Like

  3. I really like what you said at the beginning of this post, when you mentioned how peer reviews make you examine your own writing. I agree with that wholeheartedly, though it’s not something I had not thought about initially. Evaluating our own writing through the eyes of someone else can be extremely beneficial for a writer. Though it’s not quite the same as someone else actually reading over your writing, it is a good exercise when writing groups aren’t an option, and is a side effect of writing a piece with the knowledge that it WILL be read by others.

    Like

Leave a comment