Dear Elves in Coffin 318

First, some background. My roommate and I have discovered that there are small elves that live in our room, causing problems, taking our socks, and making us regret going to stores like Target. Here I address some of my concerns to said elves.

Dear Elves,

When Hannah first told me about you, I’m thought she was just kidding around. But now that I know you’re around, I have a few things to say to you, mostly about your unacceptable behavior in regards to our room. And our socks.

To the T-Shirt Elves, I wish you would stop stretching out my clothes. I like them to fit the way they are supposed to, and your constant stretching requires me to do more laundry than I ever want to. And laundry isn’t cheap.

I also get tired of doing my eyebrows. So if you Eyebrow Elves could cut it out, that would be great. I really don’t need more eyebrow hair than I already have…

Jingle Punk Hood Elves, keep doing what you’re doing. Hannah and I need to lighten up sometimes, and bringing out our gangster roots often leads to dance parties, which are most enjoyable.

Now I have a real bone to pick with the Sock Elves. I only have about six pairs of socks. I don’t want to loose any of them, so please stop giving them to the other people on my floor while I’m doing laundry. On a different note, I don’t want Matney’s basketball socks, or Lauren’s soccer socks. So please don’t give me those either. I understand that you have House Elves to free, but I really need two of each sock.

And finally, to the Target Elves I say this: I’m a college student. I don’t have much money, and Target is one of my favorite stores. I would greatly appreciate it if you would stop convincing me to spend all my money there. I need it for more important things, like textbooks and coffee.

I know these rules sounds like a lot to manage, but I could use your help here. I don’t have the patience for your shenanigans. However, it wouldn’t be amiss if you sent your bud Legolas to come hang out.

Sincerely,

Anna Dirkse

4 thoughts on “Dear Elves in Coffin 318

  1. I’m sure there are a thousand inside jokes I’m missing here, but this is hilarious! Sometimes I’m convinced that there are little elves stealing my pencils… and bobby pins… and hair ties… and socks… You get it; the elves bother you too. We should start a protest or a union or something, just to be safe. πŸ™‚

    Liked by 1 person

  2. Haha I love this so much! πŸ™‚ The references to Harry Potter and The Lord of the Rings were particularly fitting, and your writing was incredibly delightful and clever. My suspicion is that the Sock Elves and the Target Elves are in league with one another and that they steal your socks so that you have to buy more at Target. Watch out for those little buggers. πŸ˜‰

    Liked by 1 person

  3. Definitely gonna make me look out for those little elves with passion now. Gotta keep our wallets and sock drawers safe. All in all, a very light-hearted and enjoyable piece, good work.

    Like

  4. Yes! I wish I had something a bit wittier than that, but I seriously love this post. I have Fred Meyer and Amazon elves that whisper sweet nothings in my ear and it’s a wonder I can still afford car insurance. We have a Free Dobby line in Hob and at this rate, those little buggers will be forming their own union by Thanksgiving.

    Like

Leave a comment