The Pennington House

I love it here. No, not this exact physical location, though that’s nice too. I love being here, the atmosphere, the people. The Pennington House is beginning to feel like home to me. This place inspires me, it motivates me to work hard. There is a lot to be learned within this house, and I am excited for these upcoming years. But I am amazed by what I have already experienced here.

The paint is peeling, the glass is warped, and the floor creaks like you wouldn’t imagine. But despite its outward appearance, this place is of high integrity. In it, some of the wisest people I have yet to meet, both professors and students, come together to discuss the works of wise people I will never meet. Two years ago I never would have thought that I would be sitting around some giant table with twenty opinionated people discussing what the “darkness” was in Genesis, or whether or not the gods of Greek mythology were rational. We’ve already covered some serious topics, from why God does what he does to wondering if there’s any merit to Plato’s creation story.

These ideas above are serious, thought inducing subjects. But there have been many other, lighter conversations as well. Bible study on Monday nights, in the Pennington House, offers a chance to build fellowship and get to know the Lord better. It offers laughter and song and the chance to experience life together. I love having a place to come hang out, a place to watch movies on the weekends, and do homework in between classes. There’s a community here, and I love being a part of it.

A year ago I had no idea that this community existed. I had never heard of the William Penn Honors Program. But now here I am. It was a long road here, from applications to scholarships to finding the motivation to finish my senior year of high school. When I applied to this program, I knew what I was getting at face value, but I never could have guessed what I would truly get out of this program.

One thought on “The Pennington House

  1. I’m so glad you feel so loved here. My place like the Pennington house is probably Wood-Mar because of the amazing things that happen in that auditorium. And a year ago I had no idea what my life would be like here either. But now that this chapter has begun, I do nothing but gush about how amazing everything is here.

    Like

Leave a comment